Studs Up


It’s Nearly Over
May 10, 2009, 7:46 pm
Filed under: Football, Liverpool FC

I’ve got that horrible early May feeling, a niggling sense of unease and foreboding, the season is nearly over. Following today’s victory in the Manchester derby, which was achieved with remarkable ease whilst resting several key players, Man Utd need just 4 points from their next 2 games to seal their 18th league-title. As I write, Barcelona are closing in on victory against Villareal, a victory that will confirm them as the champions of Spain. Hell, even my own Sunday League team played their final game of the season today (we won the league by the way). Unfortunately, this summer there is no World Cup or European Championships to keep my appetite for football satisfied. so what am I going to do with myself for the next few months?

transfer-speculation

I can’t stand the weeks of speculation in the transfer market. Scanning the papers for reports of rumours linking every player under the sun to every club under the sun? That’s not interesting, that’s really boring. I’d rather close my eyes and ears until the transfer window has closed, and then have a look at who’s playing where. But irritatingly, I know that once the final ball of the 2008/09 season has been kicked, I’ll find it impossible to resist the temptation to pick up the paper and turn immediately to the football pages. After all, what else have I got? It’s at times like these when I wished I was into cricket, but I’m not.

_42292524_rudi_out416

Cricket, people like it, but it's not really the same as football is it?

Having said all of that, perhaps I’m being a little premature. We still have the FA Cup final to look forward to, although given that it will be an all-blue contest, I will not be watching, But there is of course the final of the Champions League yet to come. When Barcelona and Man Utd meet on the 27th of May it will be the first time in 11 years that the final of the competition is contested by two domestic champions from the previous season. I’m not sure why this means anything to me, especially given that 75% of this year’s semi-finalists were from the same country, but I still believe that the European Cup would be a better competition if it were for champions and champions only. I would even swap what was a wonderful night in Istanbul for such a competition. But that’s another story, the point is the season isn’t quite over yet, and so perhaps I ought to learn to appreciate what’s left of it while it lasts.

Barcelona_Man_Utd_CL

But the fact is, I know that for 3 months that will seem like an eternity, my life will be missing a massive chunk. Then again, perhaps it will be the making of me and I’ll actually do something productive with my time. And in the meantime, COME ON BARCA!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

alas, barca couldn’t wrap it up last night, probably giving some man u fans a bit of confidence for the aforementioned european final. personally, i’d love barca to royally stuff the reds, but i can see it being a bit closer than that. as for the three month break, i couldn’t agree with you more, as much it pains me there is NOTHING else to do except wade through the endless transfer speculation, most of which is utter crap – especially if you’re a spurs fan (how different could it have been if arshavin had come to us with old pavers this time last year, i wonder?).
over the years i’ve learned to try and forget football during this barren period, to not let myself get hyped up for the next season, to not take spurs’ generally good pre-season form too seriously. but i can’t. and i do. and i’m generally disappointed.
but that’s the bug of football…..

Comment by rich

Cricket is stupid.

Comment by DL

similar feelings of ifs and buts rich? i think it was also a case of some poor running of the club. break in to the top four next year? ; )
from an arsenal perspective i cant wait to get the rest of this season out of the way and am already satisfying myself with thoughts that august isnt that far away. it will be an intriguing summer of transfer merry go rounds no doubt even with the credit crunch. man city will see to that. in a dream world id love to hold on to all key players and to bring in some much needed reinforcements in certain areas.
i would love to see barca win it but i cant see it to be honest. that and the relegation battle to keep us going for now

Come on barca indeed

Cricket is stupid

Comment by gooner

yeah, thanks mate – couldn’t resist a little poke could you?! 😀
i’ve commented on just how poorly spurs run themselves elsewhere on this blog….
from a gooner point of view, it is undeniable that arshavin has single-handendly turned around your sesason, and thanks mainly to him and some key players coming back at the right time you’re now in the champions league. was good to hear wenger admitting you need a bit more expereince and is willing to sign some more players of that ilk in the summer. spurs will do something similar, but as for breaking into the top four….i’ll laugh heartily to that notion over a beer with you some time.

Comment by rich

To be fair, since he arrived Redknapp has taken over he’s taken 46 pts from 28 games. Over the course of a season, that sort of form would generally lead to a 5th or 6th placed finish. So given the chance to wheel and deal a little in the summer, I’m sure old Hazza will get Spurs finishing… 5th or 6th.

But life ain’t too rosy for the Arsenal fans either. Wenger is claiming that big money is not required to transform his squad into one that compete next season. But I’ll be surprised if he can add a top drawer centre-back who can head the ball and a top drawer holding mid without spending a fair bit. 4th place and a couple of exciting yet unsuccessful cup runs beckons for Arsenal.

Comment by GW

while nodding sagely to your logic, i can’t help feeling that something else will get in the way of spurs’ progression, to my mind the board will think of something….. here’s hoping though.

Comment by rich




Leave a Reply

