Studs Up


Entertainment?
March 10, 2009, 6:59 pm
Filed under: Liverpool FC

real_madrid-vs-liverpool-22

Tonight I will be sitting down to watch Liverpool take on Real Madrid in the 2nd leg of the Champions League’s Last 16, and like most Liverpool fans, I’ll be hoping for a result that sees Liverpool progress to the Quarter Finals.  But I’ll also be hoping for something else, a game of football.

I can appreciate the intense boredom caused to neutrals who endured Liverpool’s recent “titanic struggles” with Chelsea in Europe, because although I found these encounters emotionally draining, the football on display was insipid.  So following tonight’s game, rather than hearing pundits coming out with phrases such as “disciplined” and “resolute”, I’m longing to hear things like “vibrant”, “cavalier” and “stylish”.

We’re about to see two European heavyweights, with 14 European Cups between them, going head to head in a battle to salvage their seasons.  Real Madrid are bringing Raul, Robben and co to try and silence Anfield.  Surely we will see some excitement?

Fat chance?  We’ll see I suppose.  But if I’m honest, I don’t really care as long as we go through.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

